So, J.D Salinger is dead, one of the worlds most recognized authors, most notably for writing the book in the title “Catcher in the Rye”, the tale of a troubled teen named Holden Caulfield, a character millions of teenagers around the world can relate to, and in my personal opinion, one of the best characters ever written. For some “the Catcher in the Rye” is a rite of passage, I, myself  found it a very good book at the time of reading it, at the time not even realising the huge impact the book has had on so many lives as well as my own.

Many people often forget how being a teenager was, heck even I at my mere 19 years(going on 20) find it hard to remember the feeling, that sinking feeling of not wanting to grow up, J.D Salinger, even though considerably older than myself, was able to “catch” that feeling so well.

Tonight, I will open up my dusty old version of the book, and read it all over again, to once again experience the feeling of being a teenager.

And it’s a shame people will not mourn the loss of J.D Salinger the same way they mourned the loss of M.J or the likes but some people will, but he is still one of the best writers in modern literature and will continue to be so.

John Green with a fitting tribute to one of his inspirations.

R.I.P mr. Salinger

